What Do You Eat, Living or Dead?

Four legs
Two legs
No legs but fins
Fellow creatures
Who walk this earth
Or swim the oceans
Rivers and lakes
Or soar in the sky
I will not harm
My needs are met
Sufficient
With plants
Energy of the growing seed
Sun blessed leaves
Sprouted beans
Magical foods
Soil plants
Nurtured by mother earth
Still living
As they join and become one
With me.
Leave the creatures
To live their lives
They have their own purpose
They do not belong to us
I do not need them
And what if I did
Partake of their flesh?
What do I consume?
Death and decay
Cold blood
Rotting tissue
The price of killing
A fellow-creature
Why do we do it
When we don’t need to?

I have been a vegan for the past 13 months or so. I have drifted in and out of vegetarianism throughout my life and had always considered veganism to be extreme. Something awoke in me last year when suddenly, I realised it is not extreme. I’m not a fanatic and haven’t gone to the extent of throwing away leather belts and shoes that I already own or researching to the nth degree what products contain a trace of animal product. Essentially I avoid eating, where possible, animal products; meat, fish, fowl and dairy.

Why? There are two main reasons.
1. Animal welfare – there is no such thing as compassion in farming, how can there be if you end up killing. There has to be distress. Why kill animals when we can get a balanced diet without doing so?
2. Health – I personally believe that, on the whole, it is a healthier diet if it is pursued with research to learn what the body needs.

You can argue on either or both points, but this is my truth :)

I am not trying to convert, it is wrong to try to change people in any respect, that is a cosmic law, to show and to inspire is the only way. Each must come to their own understanding.

Part of what changed me last year was the viewing of some videos; I guess they came to me when the time was right, as is so often the case; I was already on a quest. Here is a link to one of them; I encourage you to view it (all 95 minutes of it!) it should make you think 

EARTHLINGS – is the single most powerful and informative documentary about society’s tragic and unforgivable use of nonhuman animals, narrated by Joaquin Phoenix with soundtrack by Moby

The link should work, but if not, it’s all over YouTube and many other sources.

The Daily Post

2 thoughts on “What Do You Eat, Living or Dead?

  1. Pingback: 6 Simple Food Quirks in My Everyday Life | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

