In Memory of Grandfather

Daily Prompt – Familial Feasts
Yesterday was Father’s Day in many countries. If you could dedicate a holiday to a more distant relative, who would it be — and why?

My personal choice would be to celebrate the life of my grandfather, long since passed away.
I had little time with him in my childhood, but those precious days are forever etched in my mind.

He taught me so much, we shared many common interests. We both loved music, he had been a conductor in a symphony orchestra. He was in tune with sound and told me how he saw different colours in his mind as music played; changing colours portraying the melody, tempo and the volume.

He revealed the mystery, as it was then to me, of flight and how aircraft were trimmed. I will never forget his saying,’ you could make a brick fly, if you trimmed it right’.

He was interested in electronics, as a hobby, and he shared with me whatever I was capable of learning as a young boy. His passion for how things worked inspired me in my career as an electrical engineering technician.

He joined with me in model making, first with plastic model aircraft, and then on to models that actually flew, along with model boats that we took to a boating lake. All along he gave me knowledge, tips and tricks.

Most of all he inspired me with creativity in finding solutions to problems. It would be years before that creativity began to be channelled in to the arts, first painting and then writing.

Notwithstanding there is no grandfather’s day, I remember him often, with love and gratitude.

Leave a Reply

